Girly Granola

not crunchy enough for some, but definitely too crispy for others

Some good, new recipes to try November 4, 2009

Filed under: Recipes — granolablonde @ 5:47 pm

I was cleaning out some recipes a few weeks ago, looking for one in particular.  I never found what I was looking for, but I did find a brunch menu with a recipe for Poached Eggs and Creamed Spinach.  The recipe called for packaged creamed spinach, which I haven’t seen in grocery stores around here, but I always have frozen chopped spinach on hand, so I decided to improvise.  It turned out really good!  If you love Eggs Benedict but want something healthier, this is it. 

Poached Eggs and Creamed Spinach

8 oz. frozen, chopped spinach, thawed and rung

1 tbsp. butter

1/3 heavy cream OR half and half

1/3 c. milk

salt and pepper to taste

4 eggs

4 English muffins OR pieces of toast

4 tomato slices

Place spinach, butter, milk and cream in a shallow pan.  Heat until boiling, stir, then crack eggs over the mixture.  Cover pan and cook for about 5 minutes, until the eggs have set.  Meanwhile, prepare toast or English muffins.  When eggs are done, top each piece of toast or English muffin with an egg and the surrounding spinach mixture.  Top egg with a tomato slice.  Can be served with blueberries and cantaloupe.

I finally visited Pinch My Salt, a blog my friend Emily reads.  She had some timely pumpkin recipes, including this one, that I wanted to try.  It is more labor intensive than I normally like my baking expeditions to be, but it turned out so good!  I served it as part of a special Halloween meal for Little G:  Jack-o-Lantern Burgers (cheeseburger with faces cut out of the cheddar cheese), Broccoli Boo Salad (just regular broccoli salad with the bacon and craisins, just add mandarin oranges), and Gummi Worm Punch ( orange sherbet, pineapple juice, and 7-up).  It made far more than the 2 dozen cupcakes it was supposed to, so I gave some away and we are still eating them for snacks around here!


Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.